top of page

How To Survive Long Shifts Standing Up?


Throughout my career, I had many jobs that required standing up most of the day. I'm not twenty years old anymore, these long hours are very difficult on my body. Several jobs require it: customer service, sales ... Some activities or events also force us to spend the entire days standing up. I have too many times complained to my friends: "I do not feel my feet anymore" or "I have back pain! ". I even canceled plans because my feet and back needed some rest. The effects of a day standing are immediate: back or knee problems, stiffness in the shoulders, muscle pain. If like me you have to spend many hours in that position, do not worry! You can change little habits of your everyday life to make it easier. Here are some tips that have saved my life:

  • I bought comfortable shoes that hold my feet well, with a heel less than 5 cm. I was advised that shoes too flat put pressure on the ankles so the ideal height: 2 or 3 cm! Fabric wise, nothing compares to a leather of quality.

  • I picked the correct size. Having very small feet, I always tended to take a larger size and tell myself that I was going to wear thick stockings. Big mistake!

  • I started bringing two pairs of shoes to work so I can alternate and let the other one dry for a few hours. I also began to wear woolen or cotton stockings, they allow the foot to breathe.

  • I bought quality soles to cushion the shocks of the movements. I immediately saw the difference, I no longer felt the "pressure points".

  • I took every opportunity to sit and move. Is the phone ringing? I answered and took the time to sit down, the same thing if I had documents to fill. Do not be embarrassed to take few minutes to rest your body.

As we age, we are more prone to injury and fatigue due to long periods of standing. I personally saw a big difference by changing small gestures of my everyday life and offering myself a good pair of shoes. I had this misconception that "comfortable" shoes were not trendy. Completely false! I was pleasantly surprised to realise that comfort can also mean originality and style. If your resolution this year was to take care of yourself, these small changes are a step in the right direction!


Featured Posts/
Nos sélections
Revenez bientôt
Dès que de nouveaux posts seront publiés, vous les verrez ici.
Recent Posts/
Publications récentes
Connect/ Suivez-nous
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Pinterest App Icône
bottom of page